Home | Articles | News | New York Jets’ player awards announced: Marcus Maye snags team MVP

New York Jets’ player awards announced: Marcus Maye snags team MVP

INGLEWOOD, CALIFORNIA - DECEMBER 20: Gerald Everett #81 of the Los Angeles Rams has a pass broken up by Marcus Maye #20 of the New York Jets during the fourth quarter of a game at SoFi Stadium on December 20, 2020 in Inglewood, California.
(Photo by Joe Scarnici/Getty Images)

The New York Jets have announced their 2020 player awards, headlined by Marcus Maye snagging the team MVP.

No, 2020 doesn’t mark one of the great seasons in New York Jets history. In related news, the sky is blue.

Now that we toss aside the captain obvious headlines of the day, we discuss the Jets’ 2020 player awards, which were announced Christmas Eve morning. It’ll undoubtedly bring on a bit of snickering from the peanut gallery, but that’s perfectly OK.

For those who understand the game at its root level, and who have played at the college (or even high school) level, these player awards will always remain important no matter a team’s record. The nature of the sports would simply have it no other way.

Marcus Maye: Curtis Martin Team MVP

Jamal Adams might be gone but Marcus Maye remains. For the third-straight season, the Jets Team MVP goes to one of the safeties.

Maye, 27, has played in all 14 games this season. He’s tallied two sacks, three tackles for loss, two quarterback hits, 11 passes defended, two incredible interceptions and a play against the Rams last Sunday that helped his team to its first victory of the season.

He is the third-ranked safety in the NFL with a PFF grade of 81.1. Only Jessie Bates III and John Johnson III currently grade out higher.

The only other two candidates for team MVP this season were Quinnen Williams and Mekhi Becton. Although it could be argued Big Q enjoyed a more dominant season, Maye is the veteran and hasn’t missed a game.

Team player awards differ from league awards. The veteran, the established guy, always has a leg up on the youngsters. Nonetheless, Maye deserved the Team MVP this season.

The four remaining awards range from wily vet to fresh rookie.

Frank Gore, the man who helped cement the team’s first victory, snags the Dennis Byrd/Most Inspirational Player award for obvious reasons.

Ryan Griffin’s Most Courageous Player award is highlighted by the ugly ankle injury sustained last year that threatened his playing career.

New York Jets, Jets X-Factor

Matthias Farley has won the Marty Lyons/Community Service award for the second-straight season, as he joins Kyle Wilson and Kevin Mawae as the only two-time winners since 1990.

Foley Fatukasi is now a two-time winner of the Good Guy award, as voted on by the staff. The UConn product remains one of the “best good guys” in the NFL.

And finally, Denzel Mims’s cool, calm and collected demanor—especially while dealing with hamstring injuries that kept him out until Week 7—allows him to take home the Bill Hampton award.

Want More Jet X?

Subscribe to become a Jet X Member to unlock every piece of Jets X-Factor content (film breakdowns, analytics, Sabo with the Jets, etc.), get audio versions of each article, receive the ability to comment within our community, and experience an ad-free platform experience.

Download the free Jet X Mobile App to get customizable notifications directly to your iOS (App Store) or Android (Google Play) device.

Sign up for Jet X Daily, our daily newsletter that's delivered to your inbox every morning at 8:00 a.m. ET.

Add Jets X-Factor to your Google News feed and/or find us on Apple News to stay updated with the New York Jets.

Follow us on X (Formerly Twitter) @jetsxfactor for all the latest New York Jets news, Facebook for even more, Instagram for some of the top NY Jets images, and YouTube for original Jets X-Factor videos.

Related Articles

About the Author

More From Author


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments